Poem’s Witness

I don’t have much to say,
But will listen if you want to talk.

Not one to make grand speeches,
But I could write a verse or two,
Recite some Frost.

By the ocean,
I’m looking toward the horizon,
Where the sky dives into the water.

I wait, soft and seeing, for the arrival of a poem,
Those perfect moments of peaceful wonder,
When the sun, setting down in its own orangeness,
Drapes the world in dazzles.

The clouds and water, sky and ocean,
Two organic mirrors,
And we, you and I, get to live between
This vast and silent infinity.

This moving, living, breathing poem:
Those moments
I don’t have to say any words
Because the world says them for me.

Leave a Reply

